Homecooking: part deux

Well, it’s been two weeks since I put Parker back on home-cooking and boy am I glad I did. His breath is 100% better, his energy levels have improved, he is sleeping more soundly at night, his reactivity has gone down significantly (more on that later), and he is so motivated and happy!

This past week has been really busy and at one point I woke up and realized that I had no prepared meal ready for Parker. It was quite a rush and that will be my downfall. I’ll have to be more organized going forward. In a rush, I made oats, pumpkin, carrots, apple, banana, chicken breast, tuna. It was quite disgusting. And by disgusting, I mean he loved every moment of it.

Yesterday I was in a bind and made up brown rice, chicken hearts, carrots, bananas, strawberries and broccoli. Lesson learned. Parker thinks chicken hearts are weird and has to chew them 4 times before he believes they are food. He is not a fan of fruit (we knew this before). Chicken hearts are too rich, smell terrible, and cause him to have rabbit poop and Dramatic Groaning Syndrome all day.

Today I got up and raced to Sobey’s to stock up on his ingredients (and heck, even do a little grocery shopping for me too!) and came home with a whole lot for a whole $8.00. It’s important to shop for sales and for fruits and veggies that are in season.

I spent almost an hour in the kitchen preparing the next weeks’ worth of meals for him and he spent that whole hour singing to the heavens just outside of the kitchen. I kid you not. I wouldn’t dare stop him – it was the only entertainment I had while I slaved away in a hot kitchen.

So for this week, his meal consists of:
– oatmeal
– cheerios
– boiled chicken breast
– canned tuna or salmon
– zucchini (HIS FAVOURITE!!!)
– carrots
– apple (still not sure if he will enjoy this long term)
– banana (learning to tolerate)
– green peas
– celery (chopped so small he can’t tell it’s there)
– vitamins/minerals
– safflower oil (sauteed the veggies in this briefly)

What did I learn? He loves peas. I had no idea, but I’m not really surprised. He is like his mama – he loves his veggies, but could live without fruit unless someone force-feeds him.

What did I learn that is even more important? That I have taught my dog to beg and now have to retrain some manners into him. Feeding your dog human food does *not* cause them to beg. Feeding your dog human food from the counter, the stove, the table, the couch – *that* will cause your dog to beg. Oops.

Trainer error. Please try again.

🙂 And now, for a picture-dump. Again, so good that I would eat it.

About Caryn Charlie Liles
Caryn is a Toronto-based “people-trainer for dogs” and a Certified Professional Dog Trainer through the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT). She is the founder of Whatta Pup!, a pet dog training company established in 2008. Seeing a growing need for specialized training due to an increase in aggression in Toronto, Caryn co-founded The Toronto Centre for Canine Education, specializing in “the socially-challenged dog”.

One Response to Homecooking: part deux

What are your thoughts on this?

